Fall is almost here…time for some new ART!!

"Prairie Dog I"

“Prairie Dog I”

While I love the summer with all of the daylight and cool evenings to enjoy, the heat can sometimes be a little oppressive.  That’s why I embrace the fall upon it’s glorious arrival!  The days are cooler and it’s easier to sleep at night…as I already have enough problems with that!  It also is the time where the art season kind of begins again and artists get ready for holiday sales and shows.  I have several things going on myself over the next few months that I’m pretty jazzed about.  First, I will be having 2 paintings in the Fremont Art Association’s Annual Art Show coming up next week thru October 19th.  Also, in October, I will have my “Prairie Dog I” piece in an abstract show at the Transmission Gallery in Oakland, CA.  This is a show that is being curated by the fabulous Robert-Jean Ray.  This guy is a fantastic artist and curator.  The man truly amazes me with his talent.

In November, I will be one of the featured artists showing work at a new Latin-French fusion restaurant in San Francisco called “Manos Nouveau” in the Castro district.  This restaurant has enjoyed rave reviews from foodies and food critics alike and I’m thrilled to be able to show my work there.  The items on their menu look amazing and I can’t wait to try them.

"In These Dreams"

“In These Dreams”

I’ve began a series of new paintings working with mixed media opposed to straight acrylic.  These are inspired by the famous artists Cy Twombly and Willem De Kooning who I’ve long admired for their briliant sense of color and line.  These are a slight departure from my more textured pieces but it’s always a great idea to expand your talents in other directions.  This gives me the opportunity to use oil pastels, inks, charcoal, along with other mediums to create work.  Very experimental and fun!  So far, I’ve gotten a lot of positive feedback on the pieces I’ve done.  To the right is an example of one I’ve recently finished called “In These Dreams”.

If you have any questions or would like to inquire about any of my artwork, please contact me at jeffreytoverart@gmail.com.

Enjoy the rest of the summer and KEEP ON PAINTING!!

Leave a Reply

